Last Updated: Dec 5, 2012
"Life imitates art far more than art imitates Life" - Oscar Wilde
Image courtesy of Flickr Lauren J.
- Archives of American Art
Smithsonian’s research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. Also a useful tool for locating artist papers and gallery records.
An online encyclopedia dedicated to art history. Search by artist name, artwork title, or museum for biographical information and to see museum holdings by artist. Also features art news from around the world and includes browsable lists of artists by movements, nationalities, and subjects.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection
Access to more than 150 full-text journals and magazines in the areas of drama, music, art history, and film making. All articles covered have been published between 1980 and 2012. Includes access to the Wilson Art Index. Search by keyword, subject, or publication title. Use from home or in the library with your library card.
A project by the Metropolitan Museum of Art Libraries that offers in-depth access to the Museum's publications. Publications dating from 1869 to 1963 are being digitized, and thus far over 600 pre-1924 Museum publications have been made available.
- NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to digitized images from the New York Public Library’s collection including historical menus, illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs.
- Smithsonian Art Inventories
Combining the Inventory of American Paintings and the Inventory of American Sculpture, these Art Inventories provide information on over 400,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Search this database to locate works by an artist and institutions owning the artist’s works.
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!