Last Updated: Jan 11, 2013
bi·og·ra·phy (noun): a usually written history of a person's life (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)
Image courtesy of Flickr user Lin Pernille Photography
- Biography in Context
Biographies of well known figures from all fields and countries.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
An online version of the entire print encyclopedia. The encyclopedia is updated daily and has special added features including Internet links.
- Student Resource Center
A student-friendly version of the History and Science Reference Centers that provides the same high quality content. Ability to limit searches according to reading level.
- US History in Context
U.S. History resources including articles from magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches; maps and photographs.
- World Book Encyclopedia
Find all the encyclopedia entries from the print World Book as well as current events and research articles. Sections include Today in History, Search the Ages and Special Reports.
- World History in Context
A great place to research historical figures. Provides articles from magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches; maps and photographs.
- Biographical Dictionary of the United States
Provides biographical information on those who have served in the United States Congress. Search by Congressional member name, position, and state for listings since 1774.
- Biography Channel
A great site for biographies on historical and current, notable people.
- Library of Congress Research Guides
Search the LOC Research Guides & Bibliographies for online resources on historical figures.
- National Portrait Gallery
Search more than 100,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP), a survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad.
- NY Times Literary Biographies
Literary biographies reviewed by The New York Times Book Review since Dec. 31, 2000.
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!