This is the "On the Web" page of the "How to Research a Company" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Research a Company  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://darienlibrary.libguides.com/companyresearch Print Guide
On the Web Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Topic

“There’s no mystery in business success. If you do each day’s task successfully and stay faithfully within these natural operations of commercial laws which I talk so much about and keep your head clear, you will come out all right.” – John D. Rockefeller

Image courtesy of Flickr user dansapples'

Step by Step Company Research

Researching a company?  We recommend following these steps to get started, taking advantage of both websites and our premium library databases:

  • Business Insights Essentials
    Start here! A user-friendly database, accessible from home, with company profiles including company history, chronology, investment reports, and up-to-the minute news. Use from home with your library card.
  • AtoZdatabases
    AtoZdatabases' Premier Business Database has over 30 million U.S. business and executive profiles. Detailed data includes: industry specifics, employee size, sales, competitors, executive titles and email addresses, historic data, and more. Search by geography, industry, executives, ownership, and much more!
  • Valueline
    Additional information on the company, also including information on stocks or mutual funds. Available for in-library use only.
  • Yahoo Finance
    Provides a great snapshot of current company information, with the Nasdaq Real Time Price. It will also give you historical prices by company, simply type the ticker symbol or company name into the top left search box.
  • Morningstar Investment Center
    One of today’s most comprehensive financial databases for information about stocks, mutual funds, ETF’s and markets. Also includes analyst reports providing an extensive overview on the company's place in today's market. Available for in-library-use only.
  • Hoover's Online
    Search the world's largest database of company and industry information. Find contact information, get competitive reports, build targeted lists. Use from home with your library card.
  • NetAdvantage
    From Standard & Poor's, a professional source for company analysis and investment rankings, including tools to understand personal & family financial matters.
 

Bloomberg Terminal

All library patrons are welcome to use the Bloomerg Terminal, and Darien residents, those who work in Town or Contributors to the Library at the $300 annual level may reserve it in advance.

1. Make a Reservation - Call the Reference Desk at 203-669-5236, email askus@darienlibrary.org, or use the chat box to your right!  The Bloomberg Terminal may be booked for 1 hour at a time.

2. Log On - Use your library card number to access the terminal like any of our other computers.  Then, click the Bloomgerg icon and enter the login information posted on the monitor.

3. Analyzing a Company - Simply type the company name or ticker symbol into the search field at the top and press the green <GO> key. 

Then select from the options listed, or try these basic commands for company information:

  • DES: Descriptive page including a snapshot of fundamental data and management info.
  • BQ: Display price, trade, earnings, relative value data on a single screen.
  • CN: Display all Company News

For more in-depth Bloomberg training, bring your headphones and take Bloomberg University,an online training course (Just hit BU<GO>)

Guide Author

Profile Image
Caroline Mandler Lopez
Contact Info
Send Email
Job Title:
Knowledge & Learning Services Librarian
 

Chat with a Librarian

Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip