Last Updated: Mar 4, 2013
ge·ne·al·o·gy (noun): an account of the descent of a person, family, or group from an ancestor or from older forms (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)
Image courtesy of Government & Heritage Library, State Library of NC
The Library Editions includes the Social Security Death Index and U.S. Census Records, and numerous databases dedicated to specific ethnic origins and regions. Available for in-Library use only.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. Citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
- Connecticut Historical Newspapers
This extensive online collection offers nearly 80 newspapers published between 1756 and 1914 in the State of Connecticut.
- Heritage Quest
Trace family history and American culture using searchable images of U.S. federal census records along with the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection catalog.
- Obituaries & Death Notices
NewsBank boasts the largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.
- 1940 Census
The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.
- Census Finder
A directory of free census records, linking records available online into one website.
- Connecticut History Online
A collection of images of the state's people, places and events.
- Cyndi's List
A list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
- Ellis Island Immigration
Search the electronic archive of passenger lists from Ellis Island's immigration records.
- Family Search
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints provides access to genealogical records gathered from all over the world.
- Genealogy Archives
Frequently updated to add new links for genealogical research.
A free online Family Tree builder.
- National Archives & Records Administration Genealogy Page
Find information on how to do genealogical research at the National Archives and other useful links.
- Roots Web
Calls itself the oldest and largest free genealogy site, supported by Ancestry.com.
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!