Trustworthy and reliable resources for Health and Wellness information.
Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014
If you don't take care of your body, where are you going to live?
Image courtesy of Flickr user Alex Proimos
From The New York Times, Tara Parker-Pope reports on medical science, nutrition, fitness and family health.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center
Contains articles from health/medical journals, pamphlets, and general interest periodicals. This database also contains medical dictionaries and encyclopedias and a searchable directory of health organizations.
- Medigap Buyer’s Guide & Premium Calculator
Build your own customized Medicare Supplement Insurance Planner. Filled with need-to-know information, this customized report is written in an easy-to-follow style and provides all the information for finding out your options.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Silver Book
A searchable database of more than 1,000 facts, statistics, graphs, and data from more than 200 agencies, organizations, and experts.
- State of Connecticut eLicensing Website
An easy to use database of licenced healthcare providers, includes licensure actions and pending charges.
- American Board of Medical Specialties
Checking on the Board Certification of your doctor is simply a click away. Registration is required but the site is free.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
National Institute of Health site providing information on over 29,000 federal and privately sponsored clinical trials. Includes consumer information on the nature of clinical trials and answers to common questions about participation in clinical trials.
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
Extensive listing of healthcare organizations compiled by Department of Health & Human Services. Includes federal and state agencies, professional organizations, nonprofit agencies, and DHHS and other federal clearinghouses.
- Healthnet: Connecticut Consumer Health Information Network
University of Connecticut Health Center Library's consumer health information program for Connecticut residents and public libraries.
- Mayo Clinic
This site provides useful and up-to-date information and tools that reflect the expertise and standard of excellence of Mayo Clinic.
- Merck Manual
Information on specific disorders, organized by organ system or medical specialty. it also offers practical explanations of diagnosis and treatment.
- National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the nation’s medical research agency and a portal to all of the National Institute agency websites.
- National Cancer Institute
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
- National Institute on Drug Abuse
- National Institute of Mental Health
- National Institute on Aging
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!