Last Updated: Jan 11, 2013
“History doesn't repeat itself, but it does rhyme.” - Mark Twain
Image courtesy of Flickr user ttarasiuk
- Biography in Context
Biographies of well known figures from all fields and countries.
- Culture Grams
Concise and current country and state reports which include maps, statistics, and time lines. Reviews of daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and societies of 181 cultures of the world.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
An online version of the entire print encyclopedia. The encyclopedia is updated daily and has special added features including Internet links.
Trace family history and American culture using searchable images of U.S. federal census records along with the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection catalog.
- Historical Newspapers
This extensive online collection offers nearly 80 newspapers published between 1756 and 1914 in the State of Connecticut.
- US History in Context
U.S. History resources including articles from magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches; maps and photographs.
- Student Resource Center
A student-friendly version of the History and Science Reference Centers that provides the same high quality content. Ability to limit searches according to reading level.
- World Book Encyclopedia
Find all the encyclopedia entries from the print World Book as well as current events and research articles. Sections include Today in History, Search the Ages and Special Reports.
- World History in Context
For history buffs, class projects and assignments, this is the first place to look! Provides articles from magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches; maps and photographs. Also includes film and video clips of social, political and cultural historical events of the 20th Century from 1893 to 1985.
- American Memory
Created by the Library of Congress, the American Memory is a free, searchable, digital collection that includes spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Biographical Dictionary of the United States
Provides biographical information on those who have served in the United States Congress. Search by Congressional member name, position, and state for listings since 1774.
- Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1945
Beginning with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861 through 1945, this is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.
- Foreign Relations of the United States 1945-1976
- Office of the Historian
Browse historical documents, overviews of key moments in U.S. history, and much more assembled by the U.S. Department of State Office of the Historian. Also follow them on Twitter for daily historical info! @HistoryAtState
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!