This is the "On the Web" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers  

An overview of the newspapers available in the Darien Library periodicals room as well as newspapers online.
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://darienlibrary.libguides.com/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

On the Web Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Topic

newspaper (noun): A printed publication consisting of folded unstapled sheets and containing news, feature articles, and correspondence. The organization responsible for producing a particular newspaper.

Image courtesy of Flickr user NS Newsflash

 

Library Card Required Databases

Proquest Newspapers - Search major newspapers online. You can select individual or multiple newspapers to search, including the New York Times Magazine and Book Review sections. For a complete list of newspapers indexed, click here.

Access World News - Find global information on topics related to business, health, education, the environment, government, politics and more from a variety current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, periodicals and web-only content featuring the Christian Science Monitor, Connecticut Post, Darien News-Review and the Hartford Courant.

America's News Magazines - Find information on topics of current interest including business, education, the environment, history, homeschooling, science and technology.  Features Newsweek, Popular Science, Field and Stream, Mother Earth News, Science Illustrated, Smithsonian and more for homework help and current events. 

Connecticut Newspapers - Search full-text of 34 Connecticut newspapers, available from home with your Darien Library card.

Connecticut Historical Newspapers - This extensive online collection offers nearly 80 newspapers published between 1756 and 1914 in the State of Connecticut.

Darien News-Review and The Darien Times - Search full-text the Darien News-Review (2001-current) and The Darien Times (2003-current), as well as many other local and national newspapers available. 

New York Times Historical - Search the full text of the New York Times from 1851 - 2002.

Hartford Courant Historical - Search the full text of the Hartford Courant from 1764 - 1922.

Newspaper Source Plus - More than 700 full-text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full-text articles. In addition, it features more than 757,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more.

 

Websites

Fifty States Links to over 3,300 United States Newspapers. Sorted by State.

List of Newspapers Links to more than 25,000 papers in 201 countries. Sorted by Region and Country. Frequently updated with new newspapers.

Online Newspapers in All Countries in the World An index of evaluated newspapers in every country. Updated Daily.

The Big Project Links to worldwide news in English. 

The Paper Boy Links to over 6000 online newspapers & magazines worldwide. Sort by Country, State, or Leading Newspapers.

Library of Congress - Newspaper Archives/Indexes/Morgues Links to online newspaper archives as well as papers that have ceased publication.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sally Ijams
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip