Last Updated: Jun 12, 2013
Our most trusted resources in nutrition and health.
Image courtesy of Flickr DeusXFlorida
- CDC - Nutrition For Everyone
While you already know it is important to eat a healthy diet, you may find it more difficult to sort through all of the information about nutrition and food choices. CDC has compiled a variety of resources to help you start healthier eating habits.
The American Dietetic Association has provided an extensive list of further reading on topics such as child & teen nutrition, sports nutrition, food sensitivities, special needs, food facts, and nutritional lifestyle.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center
Library card required. Contains articles from health/medical journals, pamphlets, and general interest periodicals. This database also contains medical dictionaries and encyclopedias and a searchable directory of health organizations.
- Mayo Clinic Nutrition & Healthy Eating
Features nutrition basics (ex. How much water should you drink every day?), in-depth articles, healthy recipes, and expert blogs and answers.
- Nutrition Center from the American Heart Association
This AHA site for heart health nutrition provides information on setting healthy diet goals, heart-smart shopping, healthy cooking, and eating healthy foods when dining out.
- Nutrition Degree
Check out this website with all the information you need to succeed as a student or start your career in the field of Nutrition.
Find advice on grocery shopping, healthy cooking methods, ethnic foods, recipes, and dietary supplements. Access the USDA MyPyramid For Kids food guide, popular weight loss programs, and tips to promote body image in children and adults.
- USDA Food & Nutrition Information Center
Learn what to pack for school lunch. Plus, find information on food safety, labels, diet and disease, sports nutrition, vitamins and minerals, organic foods, vegetarian nutrition, and recommendations for what to eat during different life stages, such as infancy, adolescence, pregnancy, and adulthood.
- USDA National Nutrient Database
Look up the nutrient value of nearly 8,000 foods in USDA's on-line searchable database.
Are you looking for information on a different topic? Let us know!